top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSister Allen

Welcome to the Real World, Scotland!

Day 19.2 in the MTC... the elders are jamming out to the ringtones on their phones... the chocolate milk machines are broken again... Sister Nicoll has written an entire musical about the MTC..... I finally stole a brick... and then suddenly! It's a bird! It's a plane! ITS... ACTUALLY A PLANE! We're freeeeee! From one of my favorite places on Earth, but all the same, we've escaped! 


Whenever missionaries ask me how long I've been here, I just tell them I ate Cafe Rio less than a week ago and they get a really sad far off look on their face. I titled this email the real world, but honestly missionary work is a different dimension. Holy frijoles. All the missionaries here are still saying "lit" and "hashtag" and "got emmmmm" and making the hand signal. 


America is often considered the promised land in the scriptures, but I'm pretty sure they're talking about ABERDEEN, SCOTLAND! It's truly the land of milk and honey! There is a Lidl and a Primark and hummus and blueberries and Cadbury spread are so cheap and I wake up to the sound of seagulls every morning and there are plants and cobble stone streets and I'm friends with all the old ladies I ride the bus with and we talk about botanical gardens and birds and architecture and there are old stone churches and people are so nice and the ocean is RIGHT! THERE! and it's so lovely and the windows all open and I'm finally figuring out how to work the showers! 


I was playing Sardines and Mafia in an abandoned castle all day so I only have 60 seconds left but talk to me! Send me emails! Send me your favorite scriptures! Send me wholesome memes! 


Cool experience this week to end with: we missed our bus yesterday and got super lost on our walk homes from church and it took 2 hours instead of 1/2 an hour and we met so many incredible uni students! Two of them are named George and David and they are uni students studying Environmental Science. They are from Ghana and know about the church and were so excited to learn more! Ahh ok way more on that next week. Just know that the church is true and it makes us happy when we follow it with all our heart and castles are COOL and I love you all!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Enjoy the sunshine for me! 

Sister Allen



Slains Castle where she visited today


































 

89 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Baile

crioch (almost)

How-deee! Yesterday I attended a fast and testimony meeting (via zoom) for the first time in 11 months! It was just so touching to hear the testimonies of these fine European saints. They are so, so

bottom of page