top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSister Allen

We found God in the discount isle of Lidl




I saw a prophet tree today, just one. Its leaves were half red and half green, it seemed to be saying, “Hey everyone! Autumn is on the way!” He might be right, but we're going to hold onto our Irish summer a little bit longer. 


We went to Wicklow today, and picked enough wild blackberries to make some scones and played Amazing Grace on our kazoo + harmonica while overlooking a happy little lough settled between two very friendly, fern covered mountains.  The thought came to me several times today that “God is here.” Aye, so He is! And I'm just happy to be here with Him! It's been one whole year since I came on my mission, you know, imagine that! A YEAR since I've tasted chickfila sauce and I'm still alive! Apparently it's NOT one of the essential food groups.  This week we did lots of service for members and I only stepped on one beehive! Pulling weeds is different here than in our desert. It's so nice. Maybe it's just because I was doing it for someone else. Don't get too excited though mom.  I have noticed though, that everything seems to be nicer when you're doing it for someone else. That's one of the biggest things this past year has taught me. When in doubt, do it for Jesus Christ! On Tuesday we arrived home from a  lesson to find that the Tralee sisters had arrived for exchanges and managed to lock themselves in our apartment with us locked out on the other side of the big heavy door. How did that happen? I dunno, what do you get when you cross an elephant with a rhino?  We called my mom, she laughed at us, I laid on the floor in desperation, and had an impression to look up. I noticed the door was jammed in at an angle, and we went from there.  That definitely brings me to another lesson I've learned this year. Look up! Look to God and live. That's the only way TO live, I've learned. Anything else is just a shadow, an elusive tissue paper facade, of truly living, as my good friend Madanha, way back in my trainee days in Aberdeen Scotland once put it.  There are so many ways to do this. A good place to start is opening your scriptures and praying. Guidance will come and you can go from there. This week I read the story of Jonah, which is my new favorite scripture story. God has literally set the precedent for eating the spiritually toxic people in your life! Have fun with that. I want to talk more about Jonah next week! It's a 10 minute read, please read it! I promise you won't regret it, and if you're anything like me you'll laugh outloud at least once because you might realize you have a lot in common with Jonah.   Anywhooooo, I got to teach Jason McCarthy from Tralee on exchanges this week and our friend Daniel is on date for baptism too now! He's a homie. He sends us WhatsApp stickers, but broke his knee so please pray for him. David's baptism will be next week, please keep him and Tojo in your prayers too! Wow that's a lot of prayers! You're in my prayers too if that brings balance to the force! Thank you so very much for your prayers and love this past year! If America doesn't sink into the ocean, I'll see you in 6 months! Unless they let me upgrade to an Elder. My Irish butter is creamier than your butter, xxx Sister Allen  Pictures: We celebrated our year mark by burning um something and eating bruschetta on the floor! The rest are faaairly self explanatory. Have so much fun with them.








40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Baile

crioch (almost)

How-deee! Yesterday I attended a fast and testimony meeting (via zoom) for the first time in 11 months! It was just so touching to hear the testimonies of these fine European saints. They are so, so

bottom of page