top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSister Allen

Psalms of Sister Allen



"Any last words as a not-heathen?"

I say to Jordan, in a wee carpark in the middle of the second most confusing neighborhood in Scotland while the wind is blowing and the rain is pouring.


"No."


And this is the second time possibly ever that he's been at a loss for words, preceded only by that one time I called him a heathen right before he entered the waters of baptism.


"Any advice?"


"Don't go apostate. Oh wait, endure to the end! Endure to the end!"

He tells me. Yeah, that's right. HE told ME to endure to the end and that was the moment I knew my work in Irvine had righteously come to a close and I had permission from on high to jump ship.


Speaking of ships, I am surrounded by a color that could only be described as #6A8D91 stretching before me in every direction except up, because that direction is strictly reserved for #777!


To pause for a brief intermission, here are

some notable doorstep moments from this week:


-We chapped a door and both times I knocked I thought, "I smell weed." Lo and behold, when we opened up the chap to put a card in, we found a little bag with a little green something in it. Needless to say, we did not leave a card and we did not stick around.


-We've started giving doorbell sermons to anyone with a ring doorbell that doesn't answer! Captive audience for the win. Sister Christensen used to just walk away when I'd start talking to the doorbell (probably muttering something about how I'M high on something), but now she...chimes in with her two cents and it's great fun!


-We had a lovely doorstep Plan of Salvation lesson with a new friend named Margaret who didn't want to let us in because her dog would rip us to shreds but she still wanted to know what happens after we die.


-We got yelled at on Valentine's day. A lot. Hope we didn't interrupt anything.


- We got a knock at the door at 10:29 Valentine's day night from a 10 year old kid in a beanie. We were scared (the children hold the power in Irvine) and decided not to answer, until we looked out the window and realized he was holding pizza. We promptly opened the door, apologized, asked him if it was paid for, and continued to enjoy BBQ chicken (MY FAVORITE) and hawaiian pizza as quickly as we could, curtesy of my mother, who was sitting somewhere in America giggling while she ordered it for her daughter's six month mark. You heard it from here first, folks, pizza from sketchy tandoori shops is the best pizza you'll ever eat. We brought it with us to the King's home for a YSA cottage evening the next day, where we talked about temples.


Psalms of Sister Allen 1:1

1 O that I were an angel, and could have the wish of mine heart, that I might go forth and speak with the trump of God, with a voice to shake the earth, and cry repentance unto every people! 2 Yea, I would declare unto every soul, as with the voice of thunder, repentance and the plan of redemption, that they should repent and come unto our God, that there might not be more sorrow upon all the face of the earth. Well brothers and sisters, I have gotten the wish of my heart! I am in ANTRIM, NORTHERN IRELAND, with the love of my life -- my MTC Companion, Sister Pugmire going forth and speaking with the trump of God to the people in Disneyland for Geologists. In the words of her identical twin, "They're gonna blow that town up." UH YEAH! WITH THE SPIRIT! STAY TUNED! Beannachd dia dhuit! Sister Allen














She can't wait to see the Giant's Causeway sometime! It's in her new area

For those of you who don't speak Graphic-ease, #6A8D91 is a code for this shade of blue (screenshot doesn't do it justice!)

hehe, and #777 must be the color of the gray sky in Scotland and Ireland

80 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Baile

crioch (almost)

How-deee! Yesterday I attended a fast and testimony meeting (via zoom) for the first time in 11 months! It was just so touching to hear the testimonies of these fine European saints. They are so, so

bottom of page