top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSister Allen

Free Derry



Awk aye how's you?


It's good to be back! I missed the painted curbing in Northern Ireland while I was down south for 9 months. It's just nice to know if I'm in a Catholic neighborhood or a Protestant neighborhood, ya feel?


Things that really helped us accomplish the Lord's will this week:

-prayer, lots of it

-spreadsheets

-Preach My Gospel

-antibacterial spray

-our amazing relief society president

-leftovers from Clebea

-the singular pinkwash note that the elders left that said "Patty = neighbor"

-scissors (won't tell you why)

-car

-telling people I know Sister Syphus from back home (instant popularity)


I don't even know what to say about this week really! Sister Cragun said she's never seen a rainbow in Ireland and I told her not to worry because even though I'm not gay I attract a lot of rainbows and she didn't believe me until we saw them four different times this week! Tender mercies of the LORD!


I tried to do a juice clease but I feel re-toxed instead of detoxed because I accidentally bought the really cheap apple juice from concentrate (yikes) but at least the flat is clean now, everything we've learned about everyone this week (a lot) is organized into a spreadsheet, and our schedule is chuckerblock full of lessons we set up for the week! Happy days.


We filmed a lot this week, if you like the Titanic stay tuned for our video dropping TOMORROW (tsdy) on the Come Unto Christ in Northern Ireland page! Please share! The member in it is our amazing relief society president :)


We also posted a video about how making things helps us feel closer to the Saviour. Call me a Nerd, but some of the most spiritual experiences I had before my mission were on the floor of the robotics competition (high school gym lul) or in the makerspace! WOW I'm itching for my hands to be covered in clay and dangerous chemicals again. Eek. Anywho, the video was about how Jesus Christ is the "everlasting Maker" (Helaman 1:11) and how making thing is one way to follow His example and feel some of the joy He felt as our perfect example.


Here's a quote from Thomas S. Monson from his talk "In Quest for the Abundant Life" that we just love. Enjoy!


"God left the world unfinished for man to work his skill upon. He left the electricity in the cloud, the oil in the earth. He left the rivers unbridged and the forests unfelled and the cities unbuilt. God gives to man the challenge of raw materials, not the ease of finished things. He leaves the pictures unpainted and the music unsung and the problems unsolved, that man might know the joys and glories of creation."


AHHHHHH ISN'T IT SO GOOD??!!! You don't need to be "good" at it, just try to make something this week! Dare u. Send me pictureeessssss


Here are two CLASS articles about making things, I can really testify that Heavenly Father, through the everlasting maker Jesus Christ, really can make more, more, more of ourselves then we could ever dream of! Trust himmm! Read more here vvv




Waterlogged,

Sister Allen


ps. Accidentally went to Free Derry today (as in, whatever you do don't go to Free Derry, free Derry) on our quest to find a car wash, whoops. (Couldn't find one) Cool autonomous nationalist murals, tho. Some of them even have face masks.





55 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Baile

crioch (almost)

How-deee! Yesterday I attended a fast and testimony meeting (via zoom) for the first time in 11 months! It was just so touching to hear the testimonies of these fine European saints. They are so, so

bottom of page