top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSister Allen

Bridge-of-Dusk

Hello friends! The sun has set on my time in Bridge of Don! The week after I finally remembered to buy strawberry jam, I have to leave it behind for something better! I am on a train at the present moment on my way to IRVINE, SCOTLAND, which means I'm moving to the other side of the country! Which is a lot less dramatic of a statement in Scotland than the US, but I'm quite excited to look out at the ocean very day and know (most of) you all are right on the other side of it! The trees in Aberdeen were just beginning to turn brilliant colors, and now that I'm down south, I get to experience the magic and anticipation of fall all over again as the cold breaths of the Atlantic make them shiver too! 


So long, Aberdeen! Farewell, my beloved Sister Powell! And God be with you til we meet again, my most precious panini maker. We were reflecting on our transfer vision last night and although we didn't meet every single one of our goals, we exceeded our goal for a record breaking number of copies of the Book of Mormon distributed and held true to our commitment to make a panini a week! This week's panini's were Strawberry Crepe, Breakfast Burrito, and Pancake+Cadbury Spread+Banana in case anyone was wondering! Our philosophy for this transfer has become, "When in doubt, pray about it and stick it in the panini maker!" Both are antidotes to life's ailments that make anything better! Except for bananas. Bananas aren't meant to be paninified. 


As I sit on this train experiencing a whirlwind tour of Scotland from the quaint villages of Perth to the cities of Sterling and Glasgow, I've been quite reflective to the things I've learned during my 6 weeks in Bridge of Don. I can't thank our Heavenly Father enough for the good moments and the bad moments that have taught me so much about service and about who I want to be and how I'm going to get there and how to best enjoy the journey along the way! That being said, this journey isn't about me! So here's a short list of a few things I've learned in hopes that something that I've learned might shed some light on the autumn-stricken path ahead of you as well!


1. The gospel and ministry of Jesus Christ boils down to love. God gives us commandments because he loves us. He prepared a plan for us that's almost too good to be true because he loves us. If we truly love ourselves, we will walk in his paths because we know that's what is best for us. If we truly love each other, we will serve the way that He served. 

2. Hold on to your sense of wonder. Enough said!

3. If you ever intend to do it, do it now, and do it with as much love as you can muster. 


Six weeks isn't a long time. If we keep telling ourselves that we'll eventually get around to sticking quotes up on the walls and getting to know your companion inside and out, you'll get to the end of 6 weeks and realize that you forgot to ever ask her what her opinion on so many things!


I need to take a step back in time and tell you all about a few wee miracles that have happened in the past couple weeks! We put our heart and soul into inviting literally a couple hundred people to watch conference with us. Out of these, we had 7 whole people come, which was way more than we ever could have hoped for! In the week following, I have seen conference literally change lives. Madanha sat on the bench with her hands over her heart watching the World Report following the Saturday morning session in awe of our beloved prophet President Nelson. She just kept whispering, "yes yes, this is exactly it! Uniting Christian's and loving all, this is exactly what we should be doing! He knows HOW MANY LANGUAGES?!" She is joining the YSA choir with us because she said she has songs inside of her than need to escape. As it turns out, she and Amanda are neighbors and fast friends after we accidentally not accidentally made them ride together to conference. 


On Wednesday, we went to Amanda's house for tea and a lesson. We asked her what she thought of conference and she said her favorite part was the bit about baptism. We asked her how the spirit touched her heart during conference and she said she just kept thinking, "I just want to be baptized right now!" She has been meeting with missionaries for quite some time and set a goal to finish the bible before baptism so that she feels prepared. This has proven to be a huge obstacle, but when we asked what is currently holding her back from being baptized, she said, "just my Hebrew test on Thursday!" So we set a date for November 2nd! Last night we dropped off a photo of Jesus Christ as a parting gift. She said she wants her dorm to feel more homey, and we knew just what would bring the spirit into her living space better! I have come to appreciate lately how much harmony comes into our lives when we center it on Christ! His is THE plan of happiness. Not just for those that want it, but for everyone on earth whether they're aware of that right now or not! Kinda crazy. 


My mom sent us COOKIE DOUGH MIX of my Grandmas coveted recipe and we made some on Thursday after a GRUESOME (but GR8) day haha and brought some to our neighbor Kahina! We met Kahina after she got locked out of our flat complex a couple weeks ago. She saw us leave but couldn't stop us in time and was just waiting for us to come back to let us in. We weren't planning on coming back for another 5 hours, but I lost my bus pass and so we needed to go back to the flat and look for it! She was so grateful to see us and we've been good friends ever since! I'll totally sacrifice my bus pass to save a soul any day, but honestly I'm getting sick of this whole forgetting things all the time tribulation. Which is why I need to start saying positive affirmations in the mirror about how I'm NOT forgetful and I'm NOT a spaz. It works! When I remember to say them, that is! 

20 minutes after we dropped off the cookies, a different neighbor named Nora dropped of some cookies for us to say thank you for letting her into her apartment when she was locked out! Karma is REAL! Kookie Karma for the win!


Yesterday I gave a CTR ring to a recent concerts granddaughter named Annabelle, and she loved it so much! She was showing it to the bishop and her grandma Susan (whom I love so dearly) and she drew me a picture! And then we sang Choose the Right for the closing hymn! I'm going to miss the Bridge of Don ward. There's just something so special about being passed the sacrament by a recent convert you've been teaching and watching other friends be fellowshipped so lovingly by the members. The belonging and unity and love is oh so real and so sweet and so tangible and so available and so the same regardless of what continent you're on!


I have to go because we have a lesson, but I just wanted to share my testimony that I know this gospel is true by the fruits of it. I'm so grateful for the blessings that come from following our savior. It's not in our heads. It's not made up by humans. This gospel is eternal truth shared with us by a God that loves each and every one of us. We are all worthy of this love and the blessings that come simply by accepting them! 


Anywho, I'm being pulled off my soapbox by my beautiful wonderful witty amazing new companion Sister Wood from Spanish Fork so that we can go to our lesson! 


Have a blessed week!

Sister Allen




















63 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Baile

crioch (almost)

How-deee! Yesterday I attended a fast and testimony meeting (via zoom) for the first time in 11 months! It was just so touching to hear the testimonies of these fine European saints. They are so, so

bottom of page