top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSister Allen

Archie Meets Autobahn



I'm afraid I'm at a bit of a loss for words today. Not because nothing particularly notable has happened, never that. I just seem to be feeling things rather than thinking them lately, which isn't a bad thing, it just makes it hard to translate into words. 


Oof.


One more interesting note, SOCIAL ANXIETY? Excuse me? Never in my LIFE would I classify myself as shy?? Or particularly anxious around people? Awkward, yes, always, but TIMID? This seems to be one of the fun side effects of 4.5 months in quarantine. I don't have a social skill to my name! Not a tittle, not a jot, not even a firm handshake. Let's not even talk about eye contact. It's frustrating, to say the least, and a social phenomenon quite opposite to the one most experience on their mission, but it's FINE. Just another opportunity to rely on Christ, right? Right. 

I'm done talking about it. Mostly because I need to go meditate because I feel anxious just writing about it. 


Ok I'm back now! Let's talk about the sweet, tender moments of this week!


Picture this: it's Monday night. We're teaching our friend Carlos about the restoration. I'm bearing my boldest testimony of the prophet Joseph Smith when BAM. A BRILLIANT rainbow, the most perfect and vivid I've ever seen before in my entire life, graced the Dublin skyline. I turned the phone screen to show Carlos and said, “LOOK! It's a sign from God that these things are true!” He agreed. He's still not on date for baptism though? Please pray for him! It disappeared after a few moments and we didn't get a picture, but I'll always remember that moment as a witness that the things I am here to testify of are true! 


Experience # Dos: ARCHIE.


Oh? This man is a LEGEND. He's a Philipino firecracker if I've ever met one. His laugh is pure GLEE and he found the cure for Covid and is trying to convince the Irish government about it. He loves to drive fast and bought us orange almond cake (gluten freeeee!) on the shores of a little lake at the Farmleigh Manor because he won €400 and wanted to treat us. He was baptized a couple years ago and wants to come back to church! He might be the most quotable man alive besides my dad. 


"I'm a Jack of all trades. I have to be to survive in Ireland. Next I'll be the COVID19 druglord.”


LOVE THAT MAN. 


Next: DANILO'S BAPTISM!

Friday was a beautiful sunny morning. We got ready and set off to Clonsilla for the baptism of our friend Danilo! Sister Blatter found him on Facebook back in April and we have been teaching him! He was baptized into a neighboring ward though because he moved recently, but we still got to go support. 


On our way to the baptism, we stopped at a park to teach our friend Daniel, who we also found on Facebook a few weeks ago. Some clouds rolled in out of nowhere, and it started sprinkling. By the time we met him, it was downright POURING. SHOWERING. TEEMING. LASHING. ALL OF THE ABOVE. We were soaked within seconds! It was a great lesson, and I heard thunder for the first time in 1 year, which is really rare actually for Britain, and thennnn we went to the baptism! Where we were drenched with the spirit! It was so happy. Danilo was so happy. Happy happy happy. Baptisms are the BEST! 


Ok one more. Sorry. Yesterday we taught an athiest for the first time in a long time. He asked me why I came on a mission. I told him the moment I decided to come was the moment I realized every good thing in my life was because of God and my religion and he thought I was crazy. IT'S NOT CRAZY. It's absolutely 100% true! And if its true for me, its true for you. That's just the way things work. Truth is truth! Some things are simply true. If you're not sure what's true and what isn't, start by focusing on what you WANT to be true and faith will come. Remember to doubt your doubts before you doubt your faith. Hold on and believe. 


Enjoy these pictures of before mentioned events and remember to smile big this week and pray for good things to come! If I had a way to share some of our rain with you, I would in a heartbeat. In the meantime, you will be in my prayers and heart! 


What light through yonder window breaks? It is the return of hope, and Jesus is the Sun.


Keep glowing. Love,

Sister Allen



MOM PS: I'm thinking that Sister Allen didn't send me the pictures she thought she did. Hehe, I only received these two... however if you are not following her on the "Come Unto Christ in the Republic of Ireland" Facebook site you may have missed a couple of her posts. At the first of July they switched so their posts all go through this site. Here is a link to one from this week:





49 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Baile

crioch (almost)

How-deee! Yesterday I attended a fast and testimony meeting (via zoom) for the first time in 11 months! It was just so touching to hear the testimonies of these fine European saints. They are so, so

bottom of page